ESMA Extends Reporting of LEIs of non-EEA Third Country Issuers Under EU SFTR

Today, the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has published an updated statement (see ESMA statement here) on the implementation of Legal Entity Identifiers (LEI) requirements for non-EEA third country issuers, extending the forbearance period for reporting under EU SFTR until 10 October 2022.

The Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) on the 6 April 2021, have also announced that LEIs of non-EEA third country issuers will not need to be reported under UK SFTR, until at least 13 April 2022.

ISLA are pleased to see a consistent stance for both EU and UK SFTR and welcome the decision by both authorities which comes after ISLA, ICMA, AFME, and AMAFI shared a joint letter with the FCA, ESMA and various other NCAs requesting an extension to the forbearance period for the EU and UK SFTR regime.

If would like to be part of the SFTR working group or for more information visit our Working Groups & Minutes page.


Back to Newsroom


Related News & Insights